Madeline L’Engle

I love this quote:

“A book, too, can be a star, ‘explosive material, capable of stirring up fresh life endlessly’, a living fire to lighten the darkness, leading out into the expanding universe.”
~Madeleine L’Engle

Poetry Friday

I haven’t participated in Poetry Friday yet, but here goes!

I am a huge fan of e.e. cummings. This is my favorite poem by him.

you shall above all things be glad and young.
For if you’re young,whatever life you wear

it will become you;and if you are glad
whatever’s living will yourself become.
Girlboys may nothing more than boygirls need:
i can entirely her only love

whose any mystery makes every man’s
flesh put space on;and his mind take off time

that you should ever think,may god forbid
and(in his mercy)your true lover spare:
for that way knowledge lies,the foetal grave
called progress,and negation’s dead undoom.

I’d rather learn from one bird how to sing
than teach ten thousand stars how not to dance

That last line has become a mantra for me, words to live by.

YWP NaNoWriMo

Today we started our novels in class!

We began by really pumping up the idea of writing an entire novel. The kids have been dying to write fiction, so I have been building up the idea of writing a novel. I handed out their YWP NaNoWriMo workbooks, printed off the NaNoWriMo website. I combined the elementary and middle school workbooks, making one perfect 6th grade book. Today we did our contracts (the kids LOVED them), magna cartas, and worked on first lines. When I finally handed out their official novel notebooks, the kids were completely ecstatic! They got to work “write” away. By the time we went to lunch, the kids were bragging to all their friends that they were writing novels.

I walked around while they were writing. Nothing they were writing would even be classified as half-way decent, but that’s the point of NaNoWriMo. Quantity over quality. They know I am collecting their completed workbooks for a grade and they in December they will be choosing 2-4 pgs of their novel to revise, edit, and hand in for a grade. Hopefully, we will find some gems in their 10,000 words! (10,000 words was the individual goal we decided on as a class).

We’re off to the races! I will be sure to keep you updated on our progress. We should be good next week- it’s week #2 that will be hard!

In other news, I haven’t started my own NaNoWriMo. I’ve got a terrible case of writer’s block. Blah!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,797 other followers