NaNoWriMo

I’ve been working on my writing curriculum for the year. Our state testing has been moved from March to May, so I am not as rushed as I was in the past. Because of this, I don’t have to teach persuasive writing now, like I normally would. I can push that off until later in the year. I’ve been fooling around with different ideas and I think I know what I am going to do: NaNoWriMo.

It turns out that the awesome people over at NaNoWriMo have a separate site dedicated to young writers. They even have a curriculum, with sample lessons! I usually hesitate when it comes to teaching fiction because I am uncomfortable with it and my students usually have a very tough time with it. However, writing fiction in conjunction with NaNoWriMo seems like it will be a lot of fun!

Wish me luck!

Stress Relief

Last week we had Parent-Teacher Conferences at school. No matter how prepared you feel, this is always a very long and stressful week. I started thinking about how I destress and wanted to share what I came up with.

See, I am still a little kid at heart. When I want to escape from the world, I grab a book, run the tub, and take a loooooong bubble bath. I have a small addiction to a great bath products company and my bathroom is full of shower gels, bubble bars, and bath bombs. The company is Lush, a company that specializes in handmade bath products. If you love indulging yourself while also using vegan, fresh, and handmade products, I highly recommend checking them out! Tonight I took a long hot bath with an Ocean Salt body scrub and an Ice Hotel bubble bar slice. I finished a decent mystery book and relaxed, completely unbothered by the rest of the world. :)

Professional Development

My district has decided to give me district days for my monarch trip in February. That means I have 2 professional development days to put to good use this year! I have spent today scouring the internet for workshops and I am coming up empty! Ideally, I would like two separate workshops- I am looking for something in Responsive Classroom, reading workshop, or writing workshop. It needs to be in NJ and preferably the cost should be $50 or less (we are reimbursed up to $50). Anyone have any ideas or recommendations? I am coming up with nothong, no matter what I google!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,850 other followers